An Introduction to Yoga Philosophy

Yoga Philosophy

Yoga Philosophy is also known as “Yoga Dharshan” deals with the various aspect of life, primarily with our health and mind.

If we hear the word yoga the first things come in our mind, its physical component like Asanas (Poses), Pranayama and Meditation, etc. but there are lots of more subtle things present in this philosophical tradition.

The Author of the Yoga Darshan is Maharishi Patanjali and in this Darshan he codified is work in 196 aphorisms which is also known as Yoga Sutras.

These sutras tell us about the way and the meaning of yoga. To find the ultimate reality in this Darshan Maharishi Patanjali introduced the term Astanga Yoga (Eight limbs of Yoga).

These eight limbs are believed are the step to reach the ultimate stage of yoga which is Raja Yoga and these Eight limbs are given below and each limb has also its own component:-

  1. Yama
  2. Niyama
  3. Asana
  4. Pranayama
  5. Pratyahara
  6. Dharana
  7. Dhayana
  8. Samadhi


Eight limbs of Astanga Yoga

  • Yama

Also known as five restrain which include five things what you should avoid advancing on this Yoga Path

  1. Ahimsa (Non-violence, harmlessness)
  2. Satya (Non-lying, truthfulness)
  3. Asteya (Not steal anything, Non-covetousness or Not wishing for anything)
  4. Brahmcharya (Sexual Self-restraint, Flowing of Brahma)
  5. Aparigraha (Letting go all attachments, Non-possessiveness)
  • Niyama

Niyama is a Sanskrit word which means “Rules and discipline”.

It includes five things to follow.

  1. Saucha (Cleanliness of body, heart, and mind)
  2. Santosh (Satisfaction is what you have)
  3. Taph (Self-Restraint, Austerity)
  4. Swadhyaya (Self Study or Introspection)
  5. Ishwar Pranidhan ( Worship of Supreme power or self)
  • Asana

Asana simply means posture which helps to make our body healthier for other upcoming next levels. Hindus believe that our body is a temple for our soul and we have to honor and respect our body by which we can get the strength for the whole journey of our life and Yoga.

  • Pranayama

We could divide pranayama into two parts Pran+Ayama. Prana means the flow of energy and source of life in our body and Ayama means to control the flow also known as control the breathing system of the body to make our body lighter and calm.

  • Pratyahara

Internalizing the vision and senses of the body is known as Pratyahara. To control the patience of mind is dependent on the senses of our body and for that one point needs to be understood.

With the help of Pratyahara, we could eliminate the enemies of humans such as greed, anger, and greed, and selfishness.

Inner resolve power (Sankalpa Shakti) is the first step of Pratyahara to control the senses or mind whenever they try to run here and there and lose the focus and aim of life.

  • Dharana

Five concentration Practices or Dharana are advanced practice and require the practice of Mudras, Bandhas, and Mantra.

It includes the concentration on a specific point of the five elements of our universe.

  1. Prithivi Dharana (Concentration on Earth
  2. Ambasi Dharana (Concentration on Water)
  3. Agneyi Dharana (Concentration on Fire)
  4. Vayviye Dharana ( Concentration on Air)
  5. Akashi Dharana ( Concentration on Space or Ether)
  • Dhayana

Also known as meditation. To realize the self, physically, and mentally Dhayana is practice.

It helps to understand the subtle thing of everything, clarify the doubts, and make the stable, calm, and intuitive.

It helps to improve the focus and concentration of the mind.

  • Samadhi

Samadhi is the last step of achieving the “Nirvana” or “Salvation” after losing everything behind. Through the Samadhi non-involvement is achieved.

After that one does not involved with any Karmas of life, sensual pleasure, and overcomes the lust for worldly pleasure.

Samadhi is a state where liberation from everything is achieved.

Yoga Introduction and Importance


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *